Cali, Colombia

Two of my roommates and I took an overnight trip to see the gritty salsa capital of Colombia: Cali. On the Western Coast of Colombia (close to Popayán), Cali is the country’s third largest city after Bogotá and Medellín. It’s not nearly as touristy as Medellín and is a quarter of the population of enormous Bogotá, but it still has millions of people and is known for super quick salsa caleña (check out this 2007 salsa caleña competition video here).

My time is winding down in Colombia, but after all those salsa lessons, I just had to see the city in person. So, Mary, Fraser, and I hoped for a weekend of food and drink and exploring in warm weather, and that’s what we happily found.

DSC_0352
On the roof of our hostel, Hostal Pájara Pinta
DSC_0346
Fraser and Mary
DSC_0356
In the neighborhood, San Antonio
DSC_0357
San Antonio, Cali
DSC_0360
PAO Bakery in San Antonio, Cali
DSC_0368
Just chilling at the Cat Park
DSC_0372
San Antonio, Cali
DSC_0375
James Dean in the front, Fraser in the back // Café Macondo; Cali, Colombia
DSC_0380
San Antonio, Cali
IMG_20170506_225946
La Pérgola Clandestina; Cali, Colombia // With the perfect mix of salsa, reggaeton, and pop
IMG_20170506_223456
Found some Fulbrights
IMG_20170506_232903
Delicious cocktail concoctions, each for about $3USDs // La Pérgola Clandestina
IMG_20170506_230524
It’s a miracle that no one fell in the pool
DSC_0383
Because even when you’re thousands of miles away, you end up running into a friend from home in your hostel
DSC_0389
Mary is my favorite model
DSC_0392
Mary + I with our matching Cali earrings
DSC_0399
San Antonio, Cali
DSC_0404
Quiet Sunday, walking along el Río Cali
DSC_0415
Iglesia la Ermita; Cali, Colombia
DSC_0416
Iglesia la Ermita; Cali, Colombia
DSC_0407
Puente Ortiz; Cali, Colombia
DSC_0412
Puente Ortiz; Cali, Colombia
DSC_0429
Parque San Antonio; Cali, Colombia
4 Comments Add yours

  1. AstridOxford says:

    Wow, Cali looks gorgeous! I hadn’t ever really thought about going there but these pictures are giving me FOMO … Maybe I should squeeze it in before I leave!

    Like

    1. wanderlauren says:

      Cali does have some beautiful spots and I’m happy I went… but I think I’d pick Medellin, Salento, or the coast over Cali. Oh! Or, Barichara. Cali felt pretty sketchy– and that’s coming from someone who lives in Bogota! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. AstridOxford says:

        When I think Cali, I think sketchy! Your post helped glamorize it a bit in my mind I guess! Haha

        Liked by 1 person

      2. wanderlauren says:

        Yea, I get it– I may want to reword my post a bit. When I think back on the trip, a large part of my enjoyment came from the people I was with more than the city I was in.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

