5 Day Trips from Bogotá

I am currently writing from my other Columbia, the one in Maryland, USA! I’m so, so happy to be back– I could barely sleep the night before coming home. But, before I landed on the East Coast, I was able to sneak in a couple day trips away from the Bog, making me think back over a few trips I’d taken earlier in the semester.

  1. Cascada La Chorrera:

    Earlier this year, Iyla and I ventured to La Chorrera (blog post here), the tallest waterfall in Colombia and only an hour drive from the South of Bogotá. In my opinion, this was a hike. With the high elevation of the region and our luck of going on a super rainy day, I had to stop and catch my breath several times. Nevertheless, we had a wonderful time and I found the experience well worth the muddy trek.
  2. Suesca:

    In September, I went with two friends to Suesca, Colombia, a small town that revolves around rock climbing culture and sits about an hour north of Bogotá (blog post here). The quiet nights, stars, and fresh air were a big change from city life, and the humongous rock wall provided a lot of options and varying levels of difficulty for outdoor rock climbing.
  3. Zipaquira: 

    dsc_0651
    The main square in Zipaquira
    dsc_0660
    Entering the famed Salt Cathedral
    dsc_0673
    Inside the Salt Cathedral
    dsc_0679
    Everything, everything, everything is made of salt

    dsc_0680dsc_0687

    More recently, a Fulbright friend and I went to Zipaquira, known for it’s underground Salt Cathedral. I doubt I’d go to the Cathedral again and again (there is a pricey entrance fee), but I liked it more than I expected to. It was strange and interesting to see absolutely everything made of salt, and because the ceilings are so high, I swear it wasn’t as claustrophobic as it may sound.

  4. Chia:
    img_20161122_172503img_20161122_172730I probably wouldn’t have gone to Chia if it hadn’t been for my friend who took a GRE exam in this small town just north of Bogotá, but I’m glad I got to see it. Chia may be best known in the Bog as the home of Andres Carne de Res, a humongous, multi-building restaurant/bar/club with an equally humongous menu, pumping music, and rock wall.
  5. Villa de Leyva:

    dsc_0007
    Brunch in Villa de Leyva
    dsc_0017
    On our hotel’s balcony

    dsc_0020

    dsc_0022
    Villa de Leyva, ready for Christmas

    dsc_0034dsc_0042dsc_0049

    dsc_0051
    The streets were completely flooded after a rain storm
    dsc_1279
    Lighting candles during the Lights Festival
    dsc_1299
    Night #1 of the four day Lights Festival, Festival de las Luces
    dsc_1303
    The fireworks show was performed in 5 sets and went on for nearly 2 hours!
    dsc_1308
    The fireworks were launched from the same plaza where thousands of people watched the show! I seemed to be the only one alarmed by our closeness to the explosives.

    Finally, there’s Villa de Leyva, which is possible as a day trip, but I’d suggest an overnight stay. Like Barichara, Villa de Leyva is a small, preserved colonial town; however, due to its proximity to Bogotá (three hours by bus), it feels far more touristy than Barichara. I went a few days before flying to the US, for the Lights Festival, a Christmas celebration with candles and fireworks. The town is great for shopping, leisurely strolls (really, you should come here to relax), and nearby hikes.

One Comment Add yours

  1. jnkbrdg says:

    Great post. My friend was also in Leyva for the lights festival

    Like

Leave a Reply

