Guatapé, Colombia

It is still extremely difficult knowing that Ivanka’s dad won the election; that has not changed. Even during a weekend away with my friend, Mary, our conversations eventually made their way back to Drumpf.

But, exploring Guatapé, a Colombian town I’ve wanted to see since before receiving the Fulbright, did make me really happy– if only until I again checked the news. Check out some of my pictures from the day trip below:

dsc_0818
Two hours (by bus) from Medellín, we began walking toward the top of the El Peñon rock, pictured in the distance
dsc_0823
Our first glimpses of the lakes of Guatapé!
dsc_0827
Only 700+ stairs to the top
dsc_0835
Climbing + Climbing
dsc_0833
At the top of El Peñon
dsc_0839
Views of Guatapé
dsc_0841
Views of Guatapé
dsc_0842
Views of Guatapé
dsc_0855
Venturing into the town of Guatapé
dsc_0860
So many colors on every building
dsc_0866
And so many motos
dsc_0873
My travel buddy, Mary, and I
dsc_0881
Guatapé
dsc_0882
One of Guatapé’s most visited streets
dsc_0883
One of my favorite entryways
dsc_0891
My models/fellow Fulbrights/friends
dsc_0896
Beautiful Guatapé
dsc_0900
“A difficult life awaits us”
dsc_0913
Guatapé
dsc_0915
A colorful square with food and live music
dsc_0922
Guatapé
dsc_0926
The tuk tuks used to travel to/from Guatapé
dsc_0908
One of my favorite photos of the day
6 Comments Add yours

  1. Love these shots! The colours are spectacular 🙂

    Like

    1. wanderlauren says:

      Thank you so much! You’ll have to visit 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. YES! I’ve been there and it’s so wonderful! I’m glad you got to go 🙂 the rock was surprisingly not as hard to climb as I thought, but those views. Too beautiful to be real and totally worth it.

    Like

  3. wanderlauren says:

    I thought the same thing! I swear, it was half mental. Having the numbered stairs made it easier to track my progress and think, “I’m doing this! I can do this!”

    Like

  4. Great shots I must say. Keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

