Joe + Lo in Bo(gotá)

Unfortunately, my two weeks with Joseph here in South America have come to an end. He flew back to SF yesterday and I’m readjusting to Bogotano life solo once again. We had a wonderful time with about 10 days here in Bogota, then five days in Cusco and Machu Picchu, Peru, but it still wasn’t long enough.

Having Joseph here gave me the chance to play tourist again in Bogotá, visiting some spots I hadn’t been to since orientation and re-visiting some of my favorite restaurants. In Bogotá, I think Joe liked Colombia’s juice selection the best (I’m telling you, it’s bomb), and the city’s architecture the least (typical). We definitely have some of the same frustrations with the city, like the pollution and the need to be on-guard for pickpockets, but we were both excited to get back to this metropolis after a few days away in Peru. I needed my shower + bed back, and I missed being able to flush toilet paper instead of throwing it away after use… it’s the little things, ya know?

The first few days Joe was here, I was battling a cold, so we stayed close by and ate in Zona G (the gastronomic district of Bogotá) and La Macarena. Once I finally felt better, we spent several days touring Museo Botero, Plaza de Bolivar, La Candelaria neighborhood via a graffiti tour, and taking a cable car to the Bogotá lookout spot, Monserrate. He also had the chance to meet several Fulbright friends at restaurants and coffee shops around the city and, coincidentally, the significant others of a bunch of Fulbright friends who were also in town for a mid-semester visit.

On another note, I’m going to repeat that last part:”mid-semester”?? Can’t believe I’ve already been in South America over two months. Maybe these ten months won’t go by too slowly after all.

dsc_0282
La Candelaria graffiti tour
dsc_0286
La Candelaria graffiti tour
dsc_0289
La Candelaria graffiti tour
dsc_0295
La Candelaria graffiti tour
dsc_0300
La Candelaria graffiti tour
dsc_0309
La Candelaria graffiti tour
dsc_0314
La Candelaria graffiti tour
dsc_0321
Joseph doesn’t like individual pictures
dsc_0323
…but I love ’em!
dsc_0324
The view of humongous Bogotá from Monserrate, 10.000+ feet above sea level
dsc_0326
Monserrate
dsc_0330
Monserrate
dsc_0333
Monserrate
dsc_0338
Monserrate
dsc_0339
Monserrate
dsc_0342
Monserrate
dsc_0348
Monserrate
img_20160920_145837
Our favorite juices (grape in the front and lemonade-mint in the back) made to perfection
img_20160922_132955
La Plaza de Bolívar
img_20160922_133320
La Plaza de Bolívar

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This is utterly delightful! I’m so glad y’all had that time together. And it’s true! 10 months will definitely fly by!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

