Buenos Aires: Conference y El Centro

After a car, two planes (one leaving at 5:30AM, btw), a bus, another car, a hotel flood, and a short walk to a new hotel, I finally reached my hotel in Buenos Aires– a city that is not at all as close to Bogotá as I initially had imagined. I’m here for a conference that I heard about through the International Women’s Health Coalition. A few years ago, their President spoke at the Googs. I kept in touch and reconnected with the organization a few months ago, right after I found out about the Fulbright.

Their Latin America contact is awesome and got me an invitation to this conference in Argentina, El Primer Encuentro Latinoamericano de Prestadores Públicos de Abortos Seguros y Legales (The First Latin American Meeting of Public Providers of Safe and Legal Abortions). Because the conference is so closely aligned with my Fulbright grant proposal, I came and decided to stay through the weekend because I’d never been to Buenos Aires before.

I got in on Tuesday night, after a full day of traveling (see: above), and on Wednesday went on a three-hour walking tour of the city. I’ve enjoyed the beauty of the city, and the crisp winter weather, but not how much I stand out here. In the last couple of days, I’ve counted five people of color- including two older Asian people and myself. It’s not as if I’ve experienced any racism, but the stares are intense. At least in not-so-diverse Bogota, people can assume I’m from the Colombian coast or something. But here, in this sea of straight hair and fair skin, there’s no blending in.

Some of the pictures of the walking tour are below:

DSC_0104
Argentina’s Congressional Building
DSC_0106
Congress
DSC_0108
Congress
DSC_0109
Argentina has one of the largest Congressional buildings in the world
DSC_0114
Argentina’s flag standing proud, with the moon to the back left
DSC_0116
A building in Buenos Aires; the city’s architecture is heavily influenced by France + Italy
DSC_0124
Cafe Tortoni: An old Argentine cafe, famous for its authenticity and live tango
DSC_0123
Inside Cafe Tortoni
DSC_0126
Walking in El Centro
DSC_0117.JPG
Building art of former Argentine First Lady, Eva “Evita” Peron. She was seen as a champion of the poor. As such, this side of the building shows her with a microphone and lecturing the rich, Northern part of the city; the south facing side of the building shows her smiling upon the city’s poorer neighborhoods. It was here that she famously disappointed her supporters by saying that she would no longer be running for Vice President.
DSC_0129
The National Historical Museum
DSC_0134
Archbishop of Buenos Aires
DSC_0130
The Plaza de Mayo and Casa Rosada. It was on the balcony of the Casa Rosada that Evita announced that she had terminal cancer, and inspired the song “Don’t Cry for Me Argentina”
DSC_0135
Sunset in El Centro with Obelisco, a Buenos Aires landmark, in the distance

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

